Edited by Professor Brian Fitzgerald

Never in our history have fewer exercised more power over our culture than now.
– Professor Lawrence Lessig

What if Rupert Murdoch’s Fox … bought the rights to Socrates’ dinner parties?
– Richard Neville

Open Content Licensing: Cultivating the Creative Commons, a new publication from Sydney University Press, brings together papers from some of the most prominent thinkers of our time on the internet, law and the importance of open content licensing in the digital age. Drawing on material presented at the Queensland University of Technology conference of January 2005, the text provides a snapshot of the thoughts of over 30 Australian and international experts on topics surrounding the international Creative Commons movement, from the landmark Eldred v Ashcroft copyright term decision to the legalities of digital sampling in a remix world.

Contributors include: Professor Lawrence Lessig, Richard Neville, The Hon Justice Ronald Sackville, The Hon Justice James Douglas, Linda Lavarch MP, Professor Arun Sharma, Mark Fallu, Professor Barry Conyngham AM, Greg Lane, Professor Brian Fitzgerald, Nic Suzor, Professor Richard Jones, Professor Greg Hearn, Professor John Quiggin, Dr David Rooney, Neeru Paharia, Michael Lavarch, Stuart Cunningham, Dr Terry Cutler, Damien O’Brien, Renato Ianella, Carol Fripp, Dennis MacNamara, Jean Burgess, Tom Cochrane, Ian Oi, Dr Anne Fitzgerald, Neale Hooper, Keith Done, Sal Humphreys, John Banks.

Open Content Licensing: Cultivating the Creative Commons is available for purchase from Sydney University Press.

The entire work can be downloaded under a Creative Commons Australia Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivatives licence from QUT’s ePrints Archive.

Individual papers can be downloaded from the University of Sydney’s eScholarship Repository.

Open Content Licensing: Cultivating the Creative Commons is a joint product of the ARC Centre of Excellence for Creative Industries and Innovation, the Queensland University of Technology and Sydney University Press. It is licensed under a Creative Commons Australian Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivatives licence.