In September 2013, South Australian Premier Jay Weatherill issued an Open Data Declaration, which will require all government agencies to ensure their data is publicly accessible.

The Premier also officially launched, the South Australian Government Data Directory that will provide access to open government data.

As is the case with data portals set up by the Commonwealth, Queensland and Victorian Governments, the South Australian Government Data Directory provides downloadable data under the Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia (CC BY 3.0 Australia) licence.

The release of Government copyright materials under the CC BY licence as the default licensing option was recommended by the Government 2.0 Taskforce (chaired by Dr Nick Gruen) in its report, Engage: Getting on with Government 2.0 in 2009.  This recommendation was adopted by the Commonwealth Government in 2010 and has been implemented in the IP Principles for Australian Government Agencies, the IP Manual, the Guidelines for Licensing Public Sector Information for Australian Government Agencies and the Principles on Open Public Sector Information issued by the Australian Privacy Commissioner in 2011.

The use of the CC BY licences was already well established practice among Australian Government departments with large data holdings, notably Geoscience Australia and the Australian Bureau of Statistics.

As State Governments have declared their commitment to opening up their data and established their own data portals, they too have adopted the CC BY 3.0 Australia licence as the default licensing position.   Leading the way are the Queensland Government Data portal, the Victorian Government Data Directory and, now the South Australian Government Data Directory.